Australian airports invited to showcase their achievements in the National Airport Industry Awards

Nominations are now open for the Australian Airports Association’s (AAA) National Airport Industry Awards 2019.

These prestigious awards recognise outstanding projects that have improved capacity and efficiency, enhanced the passenger experience and made a difference to airports’ local communities.

AAA Chief Executive Officer Caroline Wilkie said last year’s high standard of entries reflected the significant efforts of Australian airports to continue to enhance their offering to the travelling public, and we can expect to see more of the same this year.

“The calibre of entries to these annual awards never cease to amaze us and every year we look forward to showcasing the excellent work of airports across the country.

“It is great to see so many airports investing to create an easy, seamless and memorable experience for their passengers, while also improving efficiency for airlines.

“These awards provide a fantastic opportunity for airports and their staff to celebrate and honour their achievements made over the past financial year.”

This year, the AAA has announced a new award category to highlight the outstanding work of airports within their communities.

The Community Engagement award focuses on how airports seek to make a distinctive contribution to the broader community including terminal installations, unique charity fundraising, airport open days, sponsorship or corporate giving activities.

Overall there are four award categories; Regional Airport of the Year Awards, Airport Innovation and Excellence Awards, Major, Metro and Capital City of the Year Awards, and Corporate Project of the Year Awards.

Within these categories there are 16 awards up for grabs, which covers all aspect of airport operations, from customer experience to infrastructure development.

Winners will be announced at the AAA National Airport Industry Awards Gala Dinner at the AAA National Conference on the Gold Coast on 20 November.

Nominations close on 9 August 2019.To find out more visit


1 July 2019


Download PDF